Gearing up for a very special summer, Lissie celebrates a decade of her seminal 2010 full-length debut with the expanded Catching A Tiger (Anniversary Edition), which is out on June 25 via The Orchard. The Anniversary Edition includes five new songs, four of them previously unreleased, all recorded during the original Catching A Tiger sessions in 2009 with producer Jacquire King (Tom WaitsModest Mouse) and Bill Reynolds (Band of Horses). It is now available to pre-order/pre-save and will be released on all digital platforms, on CD, and as a limited-edition double-LP vinyl with a gatefold sleeve.


While digging through hard drives, the award-winning and acclaimed Illinois-born and Iowa-based singer, songwriter, and guitarist also assembled Watch Over Me (Early Works 2002-2009). A collection of nine unheard formative compositions predating her signing to a major label, the album will be released on July 23 via Cooking Vinyl and is available to pre-order/pre-save now.


“Catching A Tiger was the album that gave me a career. In high school, I dreamed of being a professional musician, and I definitely encountered more doubters than believers. During my early 20s, I was living in Hollywood trying to figure out how to support myself. I really admire the younger version of me who faced a lot of setbacks and personal hardships, but never doubted for one second I was going to make this happen in some way, shape, or form. I think about the resilience I had to make that album in the first place. It means a lot to me.” -Lissie

Lissie has today previewed the Anniversary Edition by sharing the unreleased song “It’s Not Me.”


Elaine Constantine 5
Photo Credit: Elaine Constantine

The song’s palm-muted guitar and piano give way to a sweeping refrain as she details a doomed, yet vibrant romance from the perspective of a lover ready to leave“It’s a different perspective for me,” Lissie explains. “The narrator is saying, ‘Don’t pin all of your hopes and dreams on me. I’m going to let you down.’ It was interesting to write because I’m trying to understand the point-of-view of a person I encountered who said, ‘I’m not going to be what you need. It’s safer to walk away.’”

Lissie originally planned to mark the 10th anniversary of Catching A Tiger with a show at the Oslo Opera House early in 2020. However, we all know what happened next. Instead, she pivoted and combed through her catalog, earmarking unreleased material for the Anniversary Edition and preparing a different kind of celebration. She set the stage for the release with “Just Because I Can,” which drew critical acclaim from American Songwriter and PAPER who claimed, “This anniversary provides not only an opportunity for fans to reminisce on the folk classics that once defined their listening habits but also for Lissie to reflect on her own growth as an artist.”

Inspired by the process of bringing the Anniversary Edition to life, Lissie dove in even deeper and presented Watch Over Me (Early Works 2002-2009).

“When I was listening back last summer, the songs reminded me of the harder chapters of my young adult life. I wanted there to be a handful of real singer-songwriter – just guitar and vocal – tunes because that’s how I started. There’s a live song. In terms of subject matter, it’s a nice cross-section of upbeat and introspective. I pared it down to nine tracks and whittled it into a good overview of that era.” -Lissie

After four albums, multiple EPs, and countless gigs, Lissie still derives the strongest connection from music. She manages to consistently connect, whether on tape, on-screen for David LynchTwin Peaks and Peter FarrellyLoudermilk, at rallies for Senator Bernie Sanders or during one of her sold-out shows.

Whether she’s delicately plucking an acoustic melody or summoning a power chord, Lissie’s plainspoken poetry, eloquent songcraft, and bewitching timbre echo every facet of human experience: the wonder, the drama, the sadness, the triumph, the darkness, the light, and the love. And now she continues to make strides forward, telling her story like never before from where it all began.

The Catching A Tiger album has now sold more than 300,000 worldwide, and Lissie has racked up over 200 million streams across her entire catalog. Her most recent studio album Castles debuted #11 on the Current Alternative Albums chart in the U.S., with her previous studio albums all making their way into the top 20.

(The Orchard)
Release Date: June 25, 2021

Front cover Catching A Tiger Anniversary Edition

Track List:
Original album:

  1. Record Collector
  2. When I’m Alone
  3. In Sleep
  4. Bully
  5. Little Lovin’
  6. Stranger
  7. Loosen The Knot
  8. Cuckoo
  9. Everywhere I Go
  10. Worried About
  11. Look Away
  12. Oh Mississippi
    Bonus tracks:
  13. Just Because I Can
  14. I Don’t Know What I’m Doing Anymore
  15. A Bird Could Love A Fish
  16. It’s Not Me
  17. This Much I Know

(EARLY WORKS 2002 – 2009)
(Cooking Vinyl)
Release Date: July 23, 2021

Front cover Early Works copy

Track List:

  1. Watch Over Me
  2. Hey Boy
  3. On My Chest
  4. No Sense At All
  5. All Be Okay
  6. Call Out The Beast
  7. It’s The Alcohol
  8. Wishing On A Star
  9. Simple Woman


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here