Grammy Award-winning R&B recording artist and songwriter Leon Bridges has released his third album Gold-Diggers Sound. The album, which is his most confident, intimate and sensual album to date and was named a Critics Pick by The New York Times, is available globally here. A modern R&B album that has touches of soul and psychedelia, keeping within Leon’s origins and his more recent releases, Gold-Diggers Sound features 12 tracks including previously released tracks “Motorbike”, “Why Don’t You Touch Me” and “Sweeter”, which he performed at the Democratic National Convention. 

GRAMMY AWARD WINNER LEON BRIDGES RELEASES THIRD ALBUM GOLD-DIGGERS SOUND

Gold-Diggers Sound is birthed from extended late nights at the Los Angeles complex of the same name. The album celebrates Leon’s immersive experience of creating music in the same space in which he lived, worked, and drank over the course of two years. What began as nightly all-night jam sessions where Leon and his fellow musicians could just vibe and let loose away from crowds, cameras, and structured studio schedules, quickly began to form into what he realized was an album. In a recent stunning longform cover story in Texas Monthly, Leon told writer Casey Gerald, “If you pay attention…there’s some really tasty shit in there.”

Tracklist:

  1. Born Again (feat. Robert Glasper)
  2. Motorbike
  3. Steam    
  4. Why Don’t You Touch Me
  5. Magnolias    
  6. Gold-Diggers (Junior’s Fanfare)
  7. Details
  8. Sho Nuff
  9. Sweeter (feat. Terrace Martin)
  10. Don’t Worry (feat. Ink)
  11. Blue Mesas

Alongside the album, Leon has also released a 20-minute short film celebrating the music, Blackness, Texas and his Southern heritage. Directed by Academy Award nominated cinematographer Bradford Young (SelmaSolo: A Star Wars Story and Arrival), the film is available exclusively on Apple Music with the album; watch here. Also, watch the Bradford Young directed music video for “Steam” here.

Gold-Diggers Sound was Executive Produced by Leon Bridges and Ricky Reed and Produced by Ricky Reed and Nate Mercereau with features from Terrace Martin, Robert Glasper and Ink. Says Leon, “I spent two years jamming in what often felt like a musician’s paradise. We effortlessly moved from the dance floor to the studio. We would be finishing our tequilas at 10:00 AM and waking up with coffee and getting to work at 10:00 PM. It was all for the love of R&B and musicianship.

Renowned for his passionate and energetic live shows, Leon will support the release of Gold-Diggers Sound with several festivals in 2021 as well as a tour in 2022: Leon Bridges Presents: Gold-Diggers Sound with special guest Chiiild. Produced by Live Nation, the 15-date tour will kick off on April 29th in Tulsa, OK at The Tulsa Theater with stops in Cincinnati, Nashville, Cleveland and more before wrapping May 19th in St Augustine, FL at St. Augustine Amphitheatre. Tickets On Sale Starting Friday, July 30th at 10AM Local Time at LeonBridges.com/TourLEON BRIDGES PRESENTS: GOLD-DIGGERS SOUND 2022 TOUR DATES: 
Fri Apr 29 – Tulsa, OK – The Tulsa Theater
Sat Apr 30 – Kansas City, MO – Uptown Theater
Mon May 2 – Madison, WI – The Sylvee
Wed May 4 – Indianapolis, IN – Murat Theatre @ Old National Centre
Fri May 6 – Cincinnati, OH – The Andrew J Brady ICON Music Center
Sat May 7 – Ann Arbor, MI – Michigan Theater
Sun May 8 – Cleveland, OH – Jacobs Pavilion at Nautica
Tue May 10 – Richmond, VA – Altria Theater
Wed May 11 – Charlottesville, VA – Ting Pavilion
Fri May 13 – Nashville, TN – Ascend Amphitheater
Sat May 14 – Louisville, KY – The Louisville Palace Theater
Mon May 16 – Charlotte, NC – Charlotte Metro Credit Union Amphitheatre
Tue May 17 – Wilmington, NC – Riverfront Park Amphitheater
Wed May 18 – Asheville, NC – Rabbit Rabbit
Thu May 19 – St Augustine, FL – St. Augustine Amphitheatre

2021 FESTIVALS AND ADDITIONAL TOUR DATES: 
Sun Aug 8 – St. Charles, IA – Hinterland Music Festival^
Sat Aug 28 – Lexington, KY – Railbird Festival
Fri Sept 3 – Milwaukee, WI – Summerfest^
Sun Sept 5 – Manchester, TN – Bonnaroo Music & Arts Festival
Wed Sept 8– Atlanta, GA – The Eastern^*
Fri Sept 10 – San Antonio, TX – Aztec Theater*
Sat Sept 11 – Dallas, TX – The HiFi Dallas*
Sun Sept 12 – Austin, TX – Stubb’s Waller Creek Amphitheater*
Fri Sept 17 – Portland, ME – State Theatre^*
Sat Sept 18 – Boston, MA – Royale^*
Thurs Sept 23 – Washington, DC – Lincoln Theatre^*
Fri Sept 24 – New York, NY – The Governors Ball Music Festival
Sun Sept 26 – Baltimore, MD – Rams Head Live^*
Mon Sept 27 – Philadelphia, PA – Union Transfer^*
Wed Sept 29 – Detroit, MI – Majestic Theater^*
Fri Oct 1 – Chicago, IL – The Vic Theatre^*
Sat Oct 2 – Minneapolis, MN – First Avenue^*
Mon Oct 4 – Denver, CO – The Mission Ballroom^*+           
Tues Oct 5 – Aspen, CO – Belly Up Aspen^*
Wed Oct 6 – Morrison, CO – Red Rocks Amphitheatre (SOLD OUT)^*+
Sat Oct 9 – Oakland, CA – Fox Theater^*
Mon Oct 11 – Los Angeles, CA – The Wiltern*
Sat Oct 30 – Live Oak, FL – Hulaween^ 

^ not a Live Nation date 
* with special guest Abraham Alexander
+ with special guest The Marias

Gold-Diggers Sound is the third solo from Leon Bridges in a career trajectory that saw him going from working as a dishwasher and busking on the streets of his beloved Fort Worth, TX to being signed to a major label and performing at the White House for Former President Barack Obama within a two-year span. Following the release of his Grammy Award winning sophomore album, Good Thing, Leon issued a steady stream of music including tracks with John Mayer, Kacey Musgraves, Kiana Ledé, Lucky Daye and Noah Cyrus as well as Texas Sun, a collaboration project with fellow Texans Khruangbin. Other career highlights include opening for Harry Styles on an arena tour, his breakout track “River” being certified Platinum, portraying Gil Scott Heron in Damien Chazelle’s First Man, appearing in a global GAP holiday campaign, garnering a CMT Award for his Crossroads collaboration with Luke Combs, performing at the Tom Ford NYFW show and MoMA’s Film Benefit honoring Tom Hanks, selling out Hollywood Bowl and back-to-back nights at Radio City Music Hall. Leon also has a track on this summer’s Space Jam: A New Legacy Official Soundtrack.

Leave a Reply