Ed Harcourt Launch Shot Steve Gullick

Ed Harcourt Shares New Track “Drowning In Dreams”

Today Ed Harcourt has announced details of Monochrome To Colourhis ninth studio album that will be released on Friday, September 18th 2020 on Point Of Departure, his second release for the label following 2018’s Beyond The End.
Ed has also today shared the stunning video for first track “Drowning In Dreams”, which was filmed in Iceland and shot by the regular Harcourt sleeve photographer and video-maker Steve Gullick. The pair found themselves in a remote cabin, with little sustenance beyond whiskey, and shot some hypnotic footage among the trees and snow-fields. Watch and listen HERE.
A much acclaimed recording artist who released his Mercury Prize nominated debut, Here Be Monsters on Heavenly Records in 2001, in recent years he has gained acclaim for his songwriting for a variety of artists.
Following Beyond The EndMonochrome To Colour is Ed’s second consecutive album of powerful, cinematic instrumentals – but where Beyond The End was beautifully melancholic, gliding amid the dissipating vapor trails of precious memory, Monochrome To Colour is a more ecstatic collection
“The new album,” he says, “definitely has a sense of explosion and euphoria in places. A massive thing for me is melody. I grew up playing Mozart and Beethoven and that has stuck with me. Melody is the central thing.” 
Recorded in Ed’s own studio, the Wolf Cabin, a well-appointed super-shed in the Harcourt family garden in rural Oxfordshire, the album features contributions from Clive Deamer who drums on three tracks, someone who’s also worked with Radiohead, Dr John and Roni Size, Ed’s violinist wife Gita Langley and Gita’s sister, the cellist and string arranger Amy Langley (Amy brings her own broad musical church, having worked with people including Primal Scream, Kano, Little Mix and ELO).
“The new album is much more of an escapist record than Beyond The End,” he says. “The last one was was quite minimal, very melancholic. The new record opens its arms to the world.”
The new album is indeed full of rapturous outreach. It was made with an interesting blend of instrumentation, ancient and modern. There’s a 1910 Hopkinson baby grand piano, and also a dulcitone, a 19th-century oddity where hammers strike an array of tuning forks. “Broken old instruments mixed with modern software,” says Ed. The latter is represented by digital drones, plus computer emulation of the Hammond Novachord, a vintage synthesizer.
Occasionally drawing on some established Harcourt inspirations, the Mozart and Beethoven beside Debussy, Satie, Max Richter and the soundtracks of Nick Cave and Warren Ellis, there are also a couple of noir-ish interludes, albeit underpinned by groove-led drum patterns from Clive Deamer (After The Carnival and Last Rites). But, the album’s signature mood is a kind of hyper-real elation. The title track has an echo of Vangelis’s Chariots Of Fire soundtrack.
“Yes,” says Ed, “I was thinking, it would be pretty good if I could soundtrack footage of the athlete arriving with the Olympic torch… The big-music mood is funny because some of my favourite film directors are people like Wim Wenders or Hal Ashby, people who fit with the more understated aspects of what I do. But here I am writing this music that could go with a huge blockbuster action film. This music is totally visual for me. It fills my head with images and ideas. With the title track I was kind of trying to get a feeling of death and euphoria at the same time – like an alien was transporting you up into the spacecraft, ascending in a beam of light. Exhilarating and unsettling at the same time…To put it a more simply – it’s escapism, pure escapism.”
Ed Harcourt Monochrome to Colour packshot
Monochrome To Colour track listing:
1.   First Light
2.   Ascension
3.   Drowning In Dreams
4.   Her Blood Is Volcanic
5.   Only The Darkness Smiles For You
6.   Death Of The Siren
7.   After The Carnival
8.   Last Rites
9.   So Here’s To You, Hally
10. Childhood
11. King Raman
12. Monochrome Into Colour
pre-order Monochrome To Colour HERE


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here