After spending a few nights in a beautiful old castle near Brussels earlier in the year (following lockdown), Belgian art-poppers Balthazar returned from their stay with Sand Castle Tapes, a documentary and live concert filmed by Heleen Declercq and co-produced with HolyShit sessions.

Today, they announce the Sand Castle Tapes EP will be released digitally on September 24th, featuring 10 songs from the film– 8 songs reworked from the album and two ‘jams’. You can preorder the EP here and listen to “On A Roll” from the EP below, along with the performance of “Moment.”

Having been kept apart until this stay, the band came together for the first time to interpret the new songs within the castle walls. Declercq’s inquisitive eye captures the magical atmosphere – Sand Castle Tapes is not just a filmed live show, but an intimate look at Balthazar as their music and story unfolds within the ancient castle walls.
The band says of the stay: “You only get to fully understand an album when you start playing it together, the relaxed circumstances lead to a whole other way of interpreting the songs than we would have for a live show. It’s refreshing, it’s very human.”

Balthazar – “On A Roll” (Live Video Clip from Sand Castle Tapes)
Listen to “On A Roll”: – “Moment” (Live Video Clip from Sand Castle Tapes)

Sand Castle Tapes EP Artwork



  1. On A Roll
  2. Powerless
  3. Jam 1
  4. Moment
  5. You Won’t Come Around
  6. Linger On
  7. Jam 2
  8. Losers
  9. Halfway
  10. I Want You

Leave a Reply